MINUTES OF THE INAUGURAL BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE SEVEN OAKS SCHOOL DIVISION HELD ON MONDAY, NOVEMBER 3, 2014 AT 6:00 P.M., AT THE BOARD OFFICES, 830 POWERS STREET, WINNIPEG, MANITOBA, R2V 4E7.

PRESENT	Diane Cameron	Trustee
	Derek Dabee	Trustee
	Teresa Jaworski	Trustee
	Greg McFarlane	Trustee
	Evelyn Myskiw	Trustee
	Edward Ploszay	Trustee
	Maria Santos	Trustee
	Claudia Sarbit	Trustee
	Richard Sawka	Trustee

IN ATTENDANCE Brian O'Leary Superintendent

Gwen Birse Assistant Superintendent
Verland Force Assistant Superintendent
Lydia Hedrich Assistant Superintendent
Wayne Shimizu Secretary-Treasurer

Gaylene Schroeder-Nishimura Asst. Secretary-Treasurer Donna Herold Administrative Assistant

Wayne Shimizu in the Chair.

The meeting was called to order at 6:06 p.m.

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS

CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD

Trustee Dabee nominated Trustee Sarbit.

Hearing no further nominations the chair declared nominations to be closed.

14B-001 Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Sarbit was declared elected by acclamation Chairperson on the Board.

VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD

Trustee Myskiw nominated Trustee Dabee.

Hearing no further nominations the chair declared nominations to be closed.

14B-002 Vice-Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Dabee was declared elected by acclamation Vice-Chairperson of the Board.

Trustee Sarbit in the Chair.

CO-CHAIRS OF NEGOTIATIONS SEVEN OAKS TEACHERS' ASSOCIATION

Trustee Jaworski nominated Trustee Sawka.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations to be closed.

14B-003 Co-Chair of Negotiations - Seven Oaks Teachers' Association

Trustee Sawka was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Seven Oaks Teachers' Association.

CO-CHAIRS OF NEGOTIATIONS CANADIAN UNION OF PUBLIC EMPLOYEES

Trustee Dabee nominated Trustee Ploszay.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations to be closed.

14B-004 Co-Chair of Negotiations – Canadian Union of Public Employees

Trustee Ploszay was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the C.U.P.E. Locals No. 731, 949, 2348, 2938.

CO-CHAIR OF NEGOTIATIONS EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANTS OF SEVEN OAKS

Trustee Sawka nominated Trustee Jaworski.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations to be closed.

14B-005 Co-Chair of Negotiations – Educational Assistants of Seven Oaks

Trustee Jaworski was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Educational Assistants of Seven Oaks.

REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER BODIES - STANDING COMMITTEES

14B-006 Representatives to other Bodies – Standing Committees

Policy Manual Committee:

- Trustee Derek Dabee
- Trustee Greg McFarlane
- Trustee Edward Ploszay

Workplace Safety and Health Committee:

Trustee Evelyn Myskiw

Accident Review Committee:

- Trustee Teresa Jaworski
- Trustee Maria Santos

Board / SOTA P.D. Committee

- Trustee Diane Cameron
- Trustee Richard Sawka

Educational Leave Committee:

- Trustee Diane Cameron
- Trustee Teresa Jaworski

Board / SOTA Staff Advisory Committee:

- Trustee Derek Dabee
- Trustee Claudia Sarbit
- Trustee Richard Sawka

Board / Student Liaison Committee:

- Trustee Teresa Jaworski
- Trustee Greg McFarlane
- Trustee Maria Santos

SOTA Negotiations Committee:

- Trustee Richard Sawka (Chair)
- Trustee Evelyn Myskiw
- Trustee Claudia Sarbit

CUPE (Locals 731, 949, 2348, 2938):

- Trustee Edward Ploszay (Chair)
- Trustee Derek Dabee
- Trustee Greg McFarlane

Educational Assistants of Seven Oaks

- Trustee Teresa Jaworski (Chair)
- Trustee Diane Cameron
- Trustee Maria Santos

14B-007 Representatives on External Committees

- City of Winnipeg Liaison: The Board will send the Chair.
- Metro Coordinating Committee: Board will send Co-Chairs of Negotiations.

14B-008 Auditors

Ploszay / Myskiw

That the auditors for the Seven Oaks School Division for the 2014-2015 school year be K.P.M.G. LLP.

Carried

14B-009 Solicitor

Jaworski / Myskiw

That the solicitors for the Seven Oaks School Division be on a fee for service basis.

Carried

14B-0010 Signing Officers

Ploszay / Myskiw

That the signing officers for the Board be the Chairperson or Vice-Chairperson; and the Secretary-Treasurer or the Superintendent.

Carried

14B-011 Ballots

Ploszay / Dabee That the ballots be destroyed.		Carried
ADJOURNMENT		
The meeting adjourned at 6:38 p.m.		
Claudia Sarbit Chairperson	Wayne Shimizu Secretary-Treasurer	